Sunday night blahs

Sunday nights surprisingly aren’t my least favorite night of the week. In the Runs for Dessert household Sunday = the day of relaxation. And let’s just be real, I love relaxation.

But right now Sundays are less than thrilling for me.

The boy and I are living 2 hours apart for my current rotation, which means that I only get to see the fiance on Saturday and part of Sunday. I’m super busy during the week and I actually find myself enjoying “freedom” in the evenings after a long day (a.k.a being apart is less noticeable because I’m always tired/busy/getting ready for the next day). In my dreams, he doesn’t have any day to day obligations and can stay with me as long as he wants (and feed me chocolate and strawberries and string cheese). Unfortunately, that’s just not real life. Unfortunately.

housewife

(Seriously. Except not too seriously. I might get bored and spend my grocery and gas money on shoes.)

So what this means for me now is that Sundays end up being good practice in self-soothing. At the hospital, we always tell parents that their babies need to learn the art of self-soothing and once they do life will become a little bit less hectic. But we also tell parents self-soothing for infants means being comforted and held and loved by parents. So it’s a little different for adults but essentially boils down to the same thing. Self-soothing = helping yourself feel less like a train wreck.

In my case, it means comforting myself with awesome things.

What this translates to is good food, trashy TV, and comfy clothes. Tonight my line-up is “Married to Jonas”/”What Would Ryan Lochte Do?”/anything on Bravo, pesto pizza from Trader Joe’s, and my new favorite summer jammies. And some sleepy time tea in hopes that I can beat the inevitable Sunday night insomnia.

But enough whine whine whine (too bad it’s not wine wine wine…)

Onto running!!!

Today’s run: 2 super easy miles outside. It was approximately 1000% humidity but thankfully only about 70 degrees and cloudy. My legs still were not super happy after 3 4-milers in a row. It’s been a while since I’ve done that while running outside (I could probably run forever on a treadmill and not get sore unless I do intervals). I stopped to stretch once not out of necessity but just because I felt like taking a little break. 

I’ve been compression socking/rolling with The Stick/stretching religiously/super hydrating and my legs are still a little bit wonky feeling but are feeling a million times better than they have been lately.

What are your anti-injury tips? 

What’s your favorite way to spend a lazy day?

Leave a Reply

